Shopping Cart

Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop

Richard Herbert Memorial Scholarship

Richard Herbert Memorial Scholarship

501(c)(3) organization, EID 84-0979724

Loading Updating cart...

The AWRA-Colorado Section scholarships are given in memory of Rich Herbert, a former member of the Colorado Section and the National AWRA board of directors. Rich had a great interest in water-resources education and was instrumental in establishing the Colorado Section scholarship fund. 

Rich began his career in hydrology in 1976 with the Bureau of Land Management in Denver, and became State Hydrologist two years later.  In 1980, he transferred to the Colorado District of the U.S Geological Survey.  He moved to the Louisiana District office in 1982, and while there, became active in AWRA.  He was President of the Louisiana Section during 1983-84 and was elected to the National AWRA board as West-South-Central Director in 1985.

Returning to Colorado, Rich continued on the national board as Mountain District Director from 1986 to 1988.  He served on many committees, including the Conference Planning Committee, which he chaired in 1988, and the Education Committee, which he chaired in 1989.  In recognition of his contributions to AWRA, Rich was given the President’s Award for Outstanding Service in 1989.  He also received the Icko Iben Award for promotion of communication among water-resource disciplines in 1991.

Of his many accomplishments, Rich was most proud of his role in developing the Water-Resources Education Initiative.  He had long been concerned about the lack of interest in water science and the lack of awareness about water-resources issues among secondary and elementary students.  In 1989, he instigated a joint AWRA/USGS program to promote water-resources education at these levels and to help teachers develop appropriate and interesting curricula.  Within five years the Education Initiative had expanded to include four more federal agencies, including the U.S. EPA and the Corps of Engineers, as well as the National Science Teachers Association.  The products of the Education Initiative continue to be widely used and highly regarded.

As a member of the committee planning the AWRA national meeting in Denver in 1990, Rich convinced the national board to contribute part of the proceeds of an auction to the Colorado District to establish a scholarship fund.  Awards from this fund were made available to undergraduate and graduate students at Colorado Universities and Colleges who were pursuing research in any aspect of water resources.  The first award from this fund was made in 1991.

Rich left Colorado to become Chief of the USGS Kansas District in 1992.  He was diagnosed with cancer in 1993, and died 8 months later, in March 1994.  At the Colorado District annual meeting, just days after his death, the membership and directors voted to dedicate what had by then become an annual award as the Rich Herbert Memorial Scholarship, in honor of his inspiration and essential contribution. 

Permanent link to this article:

Application & Announcement

Shopping Cart

2017-2018 RICH HERBERT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Offered by the Colorado Section of the American Water Resources Association GOAL – To promote interest and research in the water resources of Colorado. QUALIFIED APPLICANTS – Must meet the following criteria: 1. Enrollment as a student in an undergraduate, Masters, or PhD degree program at any accredited Colorado public …

Current Recipients

Shopping Cart

The 2016-2017 Academic Year recipients of the AWRA Colorado Section Rich Herbert Memorial Scholarship were selected from among an outstanding field of applicants. Jordan Carroll, an MS candidate at the University of Colorado, Boulder, Department of Environmental Engineering (advised by Dr. Diane McKnight). Her research is entitled; Modeling the downstream transport of metals and applicability …

National Scholarships

Shopping Cart

Click here to visit the national AWRA site to learn about national scholarship opportunities.

Past Recipients

Shopping Cart

Richard Herbert Memorial Scholarship Academic year Recipient College Program 1991-92 Cynthia Paulson CU-Boulder PhD 1992-93 Marsha Hilmes CSU MS 1993-94 Douglas Thompson CSU MS 1994-95 Paul Westerhoff CU-Boulder PhD 1995-96 Mette Jordan CSU PhD Kevin Maddoux DU BS 1996-97 Beorn Courtney CU-Boulder MS Sara Rathburn CSU PhD 1997-98 Mary Andre CSU MS David Merritt CSU …